Just my type by falon Ballard

”Parker. Come on. I’d been in love with you since I was six. It took me eight years to work up the courage to hold your hand.”

Lana (Parker) & Seth. She’s a serial monogamist. He’s a serial dater. And he’s the one who got away. Twice. A friendly competition between these two. #lanavsseth! A SOLID sophomore novel from Falon Ballard! I adore her stories!

✨THINGS AND STUFF✨
-childhood love: high school sweethearts
-second (third?) chance romance
-intense love of all things nerdy
-sunflowers
-backwards hat (🫠)
-work place romance
-dating challenge extravaganza a la how to lose a guy in 10 days
-living and writing in LA
-cabo cantina (socal girlies know!!!)
-therapy is awesome and everyone should do it if they can
-Harry & Sally the cutest fish on the planet
-grand gestures
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. “He kisses the palm of my hand before setting it gently back on my side of the table.”

Thank you Putnam Books for an advanced copy!

🎶Song: Here Comes the Sun by SYML 🎶

The chemistry of love by sariah wilson

“In case you didn’t know, the ugly ducking never had to change. She just need to figure out that she’d been a swan all along.

Anna & Marco. She’s the geeky, awkward scientist and he’s the rich, charming CEO. A long standing crush on an unobtainable man. Honest to Obi-Wan’s ghost, The Chemistry of Love is going to be a TOP FAVE of 2023! A MUST READ!! Delightful and adorable and endearing. Swoon City, population me. A feel good book that every single person in the galaxy needs to read!

💋THINGS AND STUFF💋
-fake dating
-friends to lovers
-nerd culture: LOTR, Star Wars, D&D, video games, manga
-women in STEM: cosmetic chemist
-dirt & birds
-the classic rule: I won’t fall for you, you won’t fall for me
-jokes a la forty year old dad
-makeover: movie montage style
-goodnight hugs
-board games
-gum
-#IsThisAKissingBook: closed door. “My somatosensory cortex lit up like the Fourth of July.” FOR SCIENCE!!

Thank you Sariah Wilson for an advanced copy!

🎶 Song: When I Fall in Love by Nat King Cole. 🎶

The Davenports by Krystal marquis

“Ain’t nobody just anything. Especially you. And you don’t need any man to make your dreams come true.”

Olivia, Helen, Ruby, Amy-Rose, and their misters. The Davenports… “A family that was rare. Wealthy. Beautiful. Black.” A scar and a story to tell. Inspired by the story of the C.R. Patterson & Sons carriage company, The Davenports is perfect for fans of American Royals by Katharine McGee! A first-class debut that hooked me from the beginning pages…very invested in Amy-Rose’s story line! Readers, this one has a cliff hanger that will leave you begging for book two!

“…just stay.” Amy-Rose couldn’t believe her ears. “Why?” She asked. “Because I can’t handle you not being here,” he said, his eyes pained, his steady gaze holding her own.”

✨THINGS AND STUFF ✨
-Chicago, 1910
-multiple pov
-four friends & four swoony romantic stories
-love triangle ish
-society debut
-Black success across midwestern US cities
-courage & love
-civil rights meetings & rallies
-equal opportunity
-champagne & red velvet cake
-declarations of love
-#IsThisAKissingBook: young adult. Lots of smooches! “John pressed her knuckles to his lips. It was a chaste gesture that sent a jolt through her. He inhaled deeply.”

Thank you Penguin Teen for an advanced copy!

🎶 Song: A Kiss to Build A Dream On by Luis Armstrong 🎶

Do I know you by emily wibberley and Austin siegemund-broka

“Can I buy you a drink?” His question comes out uneven, like the first table read of whatever scene we’re setting here. Still, I smile. Not too much, though. “Maybe,” I say. “Did vou buy one for David?” Brow furrowing, Graham studies me. “No, but I’m not flirting with David. No offense,”…

Eliza & Graham. Hit over the head with romance? Yup. The cute stranger at the bar?! It’s Graham. HER husband. Sweetie pie. A married couple who isn’t completely disconnected…Just out of touch. Is there a way back? Will they be brave enough to find it? Readers will be rooting for this OTP! You’re going to want to read this one!

✨ THINGS AND STUFF ✨
-marriage in trouble: ily but idk you
-make believe: we’re strangers
-dual pov
-high profile lawyer & audiobook voice actress
-banana milkshakes
-hikes, hot tubs, & hotel champagne
-banter!!! 🤌🏼 chemistry!!!
-bromance: Graham & David
-wine tasting & speed dating
-dancing
-communication & vulnerability & honesty
-date your spouse
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. “Best kiss of my life.” “Last night you kissed me.” … “I did.”… “Is there a chance for a follow up?”

Thank you Emily & Austin for hosting a giveaway for an advanced reader copy! I won!

🎶 Song: Come Back Home by Sophia Carson 🎶

A love by design by Elizabeth everett

”I want to share your burdens. I want to be the first person you ask for help, even if I have no clue what the solution might be to your problems.”

Georgie & Maggie. He’s an earl and she’s an engineer. The yearning!!! Longing!! The years may have separated them but there’s something still there. Okay, cute!! ALBD is perfect for fans of Evie Dunmore!

✨THINGS AND STUFF✨
-second chance
-childhood love
-friends to lovers
-secret society of women scientists
-London, 1844
-reputation as the untamed earl
-gaggle of geese
-ankles are the new interlocking pinkies
-suspension bridge
-grand gestures
-oh no, you’re wounded!
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. “Kissed me like there was no tomorrow…”

Thank you Berkley Romance for the free book!

🎶Song: Spring Day by Vitamin String Quartet 🎶

Edgewood by Kristen ciccarelli

“That’s how this world works,” Grace said, her voice heavy with longing. “You have to give up something precious if you want something precious in return.”

Emeline & Hawthorne. The singer & the tithe collector. autum equinox. The seasons turn. The Wood King collects his tithes. Edgewood… a place where people believed the forest took things from them.

If you like a boy who likes to read, and kept his house cozy, and made his guests soup from scratch this book is for you!

✨THINGS AND STUFF ✨
-enemies to lovers
-folk singer with a pop vibe (heroine)
-the wood king’s tithe collector (hero)
-ancient creatures: shadow skins & ember mares & shiftlings & dragons & a witch
-eep! rattling doors & rotating knobs
-there’s only one horse
-a cursed territory
-uh oh, we have to work together
-oh no, you’re wounded: hurt/comfort
-making bread
-poetry & art
-plot twist! plot twist again!
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. so sweet & tender & softie.

🎶 Song: Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen 🎶

Exes and o’s by amy lea

“Tara, I’ve had it bad for you for months. You. Are. Everything. You’re the best thing that’s ever happened to me.”

Trevor & Tara. GIDDY! The floodgates of happiness will BURST when romance readers devour Amy Lea’s sophomore novel. Star-fishing on the floor in pure adoration! I LOVE THIS BOOK! LIKE LOOOOOOOOOOVE.

  1. Trevor Metcalfe will be your new paperback prince.
  2. Do yourself a favor and preorder Exes and O’s!

✨ THINGS & STUFF ✨
-bookstagrammer & firefighter
-grumpy x sunshine
-Cheetos, pop-tarts, cupcakes, McDonald’s, bbq chips, rainbow chips ahoy! cookies, five guys milkshakes
-PICKLES
-love & acceptance
-ROOMance: forced proximity
-friends to lovers
-stern brunch daddy who can bake
-star wars theme mini golf
-pop culture (the kid from Casper!!!)
-long winded texts
-Belle & Flynn Rider
-grande gestures & declarations of love
-couples crocs
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. Holding hands every ten minutes and movie worthy kisses.

Thank you berkley romance for an advanced copy & free book! #berkleypartner

🎶 Song: Somebody To Love by Queen 🎶

Back in a spell by Lana harper

”Honestly, what I’m trying to say-very poorly-is that I’m more impressed than anything.” “By what?” I asked, smiling a little at the flattery, because I could feel that it was genuine. “By you,” he said simply, his eyes shifting between mine.”

Nina & Morty. Witch & normie. She’s an attorney by day, profound nerd by night. He’s a bartender with the screen name, lowkeyloki. And poof all of a sudden he’s a padawan witch because these two are husband and wife. Aka the magical version of eloping to Vegas while severely inebriated. Must read to find out the connection between their marriage and a magical power surge!

✨ THINGS AND STUFF ✨
-oops, we’re accidentally witch married
-self discovery: Nina gets her groove back
-puff pastries & cake
-portals & magic & spells
-founding family in a small town
-cold, cozy winter vibes
-mental health & identity rep
-Star Wars, Star Trek, Battle Star, Pacific Rim, Supernatural
-#IsThisAKissingBook: open door. “He tugged me close, for a quick, soft kiss on the cheek…the casual, easy affection of it.”

Thanks Berkley Romance for the free book!

🎶Song: Black Magic Woman by VCTRYS 🎶

Just haven’t met you yet by sophie cousins

“But there’s something about this that feels so real. Everything about this man in this case, it all fits with my story. It is too perfect not to mean something, for it not to be a sign. This must be him, my Great Love, delivered to me in a black carry-on suitcase.”

Ted & Laura. It’s Ted & Laura! Not Mr. Black carry-on suitcase. He’s her guff & surly taxi driver and she’s on a mission to find the owner of the suitcase she accidentally grabbed. It’s serendipity!

✨THINGS AND STUFF ✨
-haribo giant strawbs
-nora ephron & classic romcom’s
-jersey
-meet-cutes
-grumpy x sunshine
-cab rides
-ryan gosling sweater fantasy
-serendipity & fate
-katniss/gale/peeta situations (v mild triangle)
-grand gestures
-#IsThisAKissingBook: closed door. “Klabammo”

🎶Song: IDK You Yet by Alexander 23 🎶